

2020 GENERAL

Election Date: 11/03/2020

This is an official notice of an election to be conducted in **ASHE** County on **11/03/2020**. This notice contains a list of all of the ballot measures and federal, State, and local offices this county expects, as of this date, to be on the ballot on the date of the election. (See Attachment)

An Election Notice will be prepared not later than 100 days before a regularly scheduled election that permits absentee voting, and as soon as practicable in the case of an election or vacancy election not regularly scheduled. For a second primary, an Election Notice will be prepared, no later than the day following the date the appropriate board of elections orders that a second primary be held.

As soon as ballot styles are printed, this county board of elections will update this notice with the certified candidates for each office and ballot measures and referenda questions that will be on the ballot. For General Elections during even-numbered years, ballots will be printed **60 days** prior to the election. For statewide primaries and other elections (except municipal elections), ballots will be printed **50 days** prior to the election. Municipal ballots are available **30 days** prior to Election Day. **You must request an updated Election Notice.**

Transmitting a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

This notice may be used in conjunction with the federal write-in absentee ballot (FWAB). Covered military & overseas voters seeking to vote by absentee ballot may use the FWAB to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and vote an official military-overseas ballot. When using the FWAB to register to vote, and/or request an absentee ballot, please transmit your signed and completed FWAB no later than **5:00 p.m.** on the day before Election Day. If submitted later than this day and time, your absentee ballot will not be counted. Federal write-in absentee ballots are available at www.NCSBE.gov. You may also request a regular absentee ballot by using the federal postcard application (FPCA), available at www.FVAP.gov A regular ballot can be mailed, faxed or emailed to you. You may return the FWAB or a regular absentee ballot by mail, secure fax (1-919-715-0351) or email (absentee@ncsbe.gov).

Marking a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

When marking a FWAB, for each office for which you wish to vote, write in either a candidate's name or political party designation. For ballot measures or referenda, write either "YES" (you are *for* the ballot measure or referendum) or "NO" (you are *against* the ballot measure or referendum). In a primary, if you are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, for partisan contests, you may only vote for the candidates of the party for which you are affiliated. You are also eligible to vote for non-partisan contests. If you are registered as unaffiliated ("independent"), in a primary, you may choose to vote for the partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests only. Please contact your local <u>board of elections</u> to confirm your party affiliation or voter registration status.

Please check the website for the NC State Board of Elections (<u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>) for additional information on military-overseas absentee voting.

NC State Board of Elections July 2020

Election Notice Of Contests and Referenda ASHE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/03/2020)

ASHE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/03/2020)

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
US PRESIDENT		
UO OFNATE		
US SENATE		252
THOMAS TILLIS	Thom Tillis	REP
SHANNON BRAY	Shannon W. Bray	LIB
JAMES CUNNINGHAM	Cal Cunningham	DEM
KEVIN HAYES	Kevin E. Hayes	CST
US HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES DIST 05	RICT	
DAVID BROWN	David Wilson Brown	DEM
VIRGINIA FOXX	Virginia Foxx	REP
JEFFREY GREGORY	Jeff Gregory	CST
NC GOVERNOR		
ALBERT PISANO	Al Pisano	CST
ROY COOPER	Roy Cooper	DEM
STEVEN DIFIORE	Steven J. DiFiore	LIB
DANIEL FOREST	Dan Forest	REP
NC LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR		
MARK ROBINSON	Mark Robinson	REP
YVONNE HOLLEY	Yvonne Lewis Holley	DEM
NC ATTORNEY GENERAL		
JAMES O'NEILL	Jim O'Neill	REP
JOSHUA STEIN	Josh Stein	DEM
NC AUDITOR		
ANTHONY STREET	Anthony Wayne (Tony) Street	REP
BETH WOOD	Beth A. Wood	DEM
NC COMMISSIONER OF AGRICULTURE		
STEVEN TROXLER	Steve Troxler	REP
JENNIFER WADSWORTH	Jenna Wadsworth	DEM
NC COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE		
JOHN CAUSEY	Mike Causey	REP
GEORGE GOODWIN	Wayne Goodwin	DEM
NC COMMISSIONER OF LABOR	·	
JOSHUA DOBSON	Josh Dobson	REP
JESSICA HOLMES	Jessica Holmes	DEM
NC SECRETARY OF STATE		
ESLIE SYKES	E.C. Sykes	REP
ELAINE MARSHALL	Elaine Marshall	DEM
NC SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC	Liamo iviaisnali	DLIVI
INSTRUCTION		
CATHERINE TRUITT	Catherine Truitt	REP
JENNIFER MANGRUM	Jen Mangrum	DEM
NC TREASURER		
AARON CHATTERJI	Ronnie Chatterji	DEM

ASHE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/03/2020)

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
DALE FOLWELL	Dale R. Folwell	REP
NC SUPREME COURT CHIEF JUSTICE S 01	SEAT	
CHERI BEASLEY	Cheri Beasley	DEM
PAUL NEWBY	Paul Newby	REP
NC SUPREME COURT ASSOCIATE JUS' SEAT 02	TICE	
PHILIP BERGER	Phil Berger, Jr.	REP
LUCY INMAN	Lucy Inman	DEM
NC SUPREME COURT ASSOCIATE JUS ⁻ SEAT 04	TICE	
TAMARA BARRINGER	Tamara Barringer	REP
MARK DAVIS	Mark Davis	DEM
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE SEAT	04	
PATRICIA SHIELDS	Tricia Shields	DEM
APRIL WOOD	April C. Wood	REP
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE SEAT (05	
LORA CUBBAGE	Lora Christine Cubbage	DEM
WILLIE GORE	Fred Gore	REP
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE SEAT	06	
MATTHEW STYERS	Gray Styers	DEM
ROBERT DILLON	Chris Dillon	REP
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE SEAT (07	
REUBEN YOUNG	Reuben F. Young	DEM
JEFFERY CARPENTER	Jeff Carpenter	REP
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE SEAT	13	
CHRISTOPHER BROOK	Chris Brook	DEM
JEFFERSON GRIFFIN	Jefferson G. Griffin	REP
NC STATE SENATE DISTRICT 45		
JEANNE SUPIN	Jeanne Supin	DEM
DEANNA BALLARD	Deanna Ballard	REP
NC HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES DIS	TRICT	
PHILLIP PICKETT	Ray Pickett	REP
CARL RUSSELL	Ray Russell	DEM
NC DISTRICT COURT JUDGE DISTRICT SEAT 04	23	
DONNA SHUMATE	Donna L. Shumate	REP
ASHE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIO	NERS	
JERRY POWERS	Jerry D. Powers	REP
WILLIAM SANDS	William Sands	REP
ELIZABETH SORRELL	Beth Sorrell	DEM
JAMES CAIN	James D. Cain, Jr.	DEM
JONATHAN JORDAN	Jonathan Jordan	REP
RUSSELL KILLEN	Russell M. Killen	DEM
ASHE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION		
JOSHUA ROTEN	Josh Roten	
KIMBERLY SIMMONS	Kim Simmons	
IAMEC DECKNODILI		

Lee Beckworth

JAMES BECKWORTH

ASHE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/03/2020)

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY	
CHARLES JONES	C.B. Jones		
ACUE CON AND WATER CONCERVATION			

ASHE SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT SUPERVISOR

RUSSELL VANNOY Russell F. Vannoy