Planning Board Meeting July 16, 2018 Minutes

Members Present: Errol Briggerman, Jonathan A. Olson, Victoria Curtis, Lloyd Lancaster, Terry "Allen" Swaim, Grace Walter, and Ryan Zakany.

Members Absent: Michael Clark

Staff Present: Planning Director David Bergmark, Planning Technician Wyatt McGhee, Clerk Sherry Scoggins

Guests Present: Ryan Zakany's family

1. Meeting Called to Order

As the term of the previous chairperson had expired and the vice-chair was not present, Planning Director David Bergmark called the meeting to order at 7:03pm. A quorum (5 members) was not present at the beginning of the meeting.

2. Welcome and Recognition of Guests

David Bergmark welcomed the new members, reappointed members, current members and guests to the meeting.

3. Public Comments

Mr. Bergmark asked if anyone signed up for public comments; no one had signed up and therefore there were no public comments.

4. Swearing-in of New and Re-Appointed Planning Board Members

Town Clerk Sherry Scoggins administered the oaths of office to re-appointed member Victoria Curtis as well as new members Grace Walter and Ryan Zakany. New member Joe Deloach was not present. (At the conclusion of the administering of oaths, a quorum of 7 members was present.)

5. Chairman and Board Members' Comments

Mr. Bergmark welcomed the newly sworn in members and invited all of the board members to introduce themselves. Each member shared their background information with those present.

6. Adjustment and Approval of Agenda.

David Bergmark asked if there were any adjustments to the agenda; as there were none, he then asked for a motion to approve. Jonathan Olson made a motion to approve the agenda; Victoria Curtis seconded the motion.

7. Annual Election of Officers - Chair and Vice-Chair

Mr. Bergmark explained the nomination and election process, and the responsibilities of each officer. He started off by indicating that the election for chair and vice-chair is done annually (one year terms) and that the previous chair Ashley Anderson's term on the Board had expired, but even if she was still on the Board there would still need to be an election for the chair. Mr. Bergmark continued by noting that Michael Clark was the vice-chair during the previous term and an election would also need to be held for that office. Mr. Bergmark continued by stating that everyone on the Boards is eligible to vote on any matter, whether they live in Town or in the ETJ, and that there were seven Board members present who

could vote. Mr. Bergmark indicated that his suggested process would include verbal nominations for the chair with voting by ballot thereafter, and that each ballot would need to be signed by the member voting. He further indicated that after the election for chair was completed, the election for vice-chair would then take place.

Lloyd Lancaster started the process by nominating Allen Swaim as chair; Errol Briggerman then nominated Michael Clark as chair. Mr. Bergmark asked if there were any additional nominations; as there were none, he then passed out paper ballots. After the ballots were collected and counted, Planning Director David Bergmark announced that the winner for chair was Allen Swaim.

Voting for Allen Swaim: Grace Walter, Lloyd Lancaster, Allen Swaim, Jonathan A. Olson, and Ryan Zakany

Voting for Michael Clark: Victoria Curtis, and Errol Briggerman

Mr. Bergmark then asked if there were any nominations for vice-chair. Lloyd Lancaster nominated Victoria Curtis be the vice-chair; Errol Briggerman then nominated Michael Clark for vice-chair. Paper ballots were then distributed, and the votes counted by Mr. Bergmark, who announced that the winner for vice-chair was Victoria Curtis.

Voting for Victoria Curtis: Grace Walter, Lloyd Lancaster, Allen Swaim, Jonathan A. Olson, and Ryan Zakany.

Voting for Michael Clark: Victoria Curtis, and Errol Briggerman

Mr. Bergmark then announced that the next item on the agenda would be the approval of the minutes from the previous meeting.

8. Approval of Minutes

Chairman Swaim asked if there were any adjustments to the minutes or a motion to approve the minutes. Jonathan Olson made a motion to approve the minutes of the previous (May 21, 2018) meeting, as presented by staff. Errol Briggerman seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

9. Discussion, Consideration, and Action on the Following Items:

A. Planning Board Training for new and existing members.

Mr. Bergmark presented the attached *PowerPoint* training materials to the Planning Board, which included information on the duties of the Planning Board and Town's Code of Ethics (adopted in 2008) as it applies to the Planning Board. At the conclusion of Mr. Bergmark's presentation, Chairman Swaim inquired whether the PowerPoint presentation could be made available [to the members of the Planning Board]. Mr. Bergmark indicated that it could be emailed to the Board members. After some discussion between the Board and Mr. Bergmark regarding the implementation and application of the Pedestrian Plan, Transportation Plan, and other similar plans in Wendell, Chairman Swaim inquired whether it would be ethical for gatherings of board members outside of scheduled meetings to take place. Mr. Bergmark responded that a quorum of Board members could not be present and discuss town business.

Chairman Swaim asked if there were any more comments. There being none, he asked for a motion to adjourn.

10. Adjourn to Next Regularly Scheduled Meeting

Lloyd Lancaster made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Errol Briggerman seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting adjourned at approximately 7:53 pm.