

MAYOR HISTORY

MAYOR	YEARS OF SERVICE	COMMENTS
Berry Todd	1903	
W. H. Rhodes	1914	
Oscar G. Griswold	1915 - 1916	
Charles McLean	1916 - 1917 & 1919 - 1921	
W.A. Brame	1921 - 1927	
Paul C. Brantley	1927 – 1931	
W. R. Nowell	1931 - 1935	
J. Harold Griffin	1935 - 1943	
Mallie C. Todd	1943 - 1947	
J. Harold Griffin	1947 - 1951	
W. A. Scarboro	1951 - 1953	
W. A. White	1953 - 1955	
J. R. Hester	1955 – 1959	
Joe K. Henderson	1959 - 1961	
Ira H. Johnson	1961 – 1962	
Leo T. Britt	1962 – 1965	Completed the unexpired term
		of Mayor Johnson.
Carl B. "Proc" Dean	1965 - 1971	
Marsh W. Knott	1971-1973	
M. Curtis Todd	1973 – 1975	Completed the unexpired term
		of Mayor Knott.
June G. Perry	1975-1979	
Candace S. Tongue	1979 – 1988	
William L. Connolly	1988 - 1989	Served as Mayor until the next
		regular election [1989].
Lucius S. Jones	1989 – 2003	
Timothy A. Hinnant	2003 – 2007	
J. Harold Broadwell	2007 – 2011	
Timothy Hinnant	2011 – 2015	
Virginia R. Gray	2015 - present	

NOTES:

March 6, 1903 – Town of Wendell incorporated.

1903 – Mayor Berry Todd first elected Wendell Mayor.

1914 - Wendell mayor's office burned and all of the commissioners' minutes were lost.

1962 – Mayor Ira Johnson passed away while in office.

November 2, 1970 – Town Charter amended from two-year term to four-year term for the mayor effective 1971 regular election.

1971 – Mayor Marsh Knott first mayor elected to serve four-year term and implemented the practice of a written agenda. He resigned in August 1973.

1979-1988 – Mayor Candace Tongue was the first female elected as mayor for the Town of Wendell. She passed away during her third term in office after a lengthy illness.

1988-1989 – Mayor William L. Connolly completed the first half of the four-year term for Mayor Tongue.

Refreshed: 2/21/2017