NEW HANOVER COUNTY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION



an affiliate of NORTH CAROLINA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

New Hanover County Community Foundation awards more than \$30,000 in Riegelwood Disaster Relief and Recovery Fund grant

For immediate release -- 11/10/16

The board of advisors of the New Hanover County Community Foundation announces more than \$30,000 in local grant awards from the Riegelwood Disaster Relief and Recovery Fund, according to Eldridge Dodson, board president.

More than \$30,000 was awarded to Wesley United Methodist Church for its programming assisting victims of Hurricane Matthew in the Riegelwood community.

The New Hanover County Community Foundation is an affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation. In addition to Dodson, board members include: Kristi Sullivan (vice president), Laurie Taylor (secretary), A. Rickey Godwin, III (treasurer), Ned Barclay, Patrick Boykin, Jim Bryan, Ronald Copley, Noel Fox, Stephen W. Gaskins, Frank Gibson, Patrick Moore, Hollis Moye Ray and Anna Van Rens Taylor.

About the North Carolina Community Foundation

The NCCF is the single statewide community foundation serving North Carolina and has made \$116 million in grants since its inception in 1988. With more than \$222 million in assets, NCCF sustains 1,200 endowments established to provide long-term support of a broad range of community needs, nonprofit organizations, institutions and scholarships. The NCCF partners with a network of affiliate foundations to provide local resource allocation and community assistance across the state. An important component of NCCF's mission is to ensure that rural philanthropy has a voice at local, regional and national levels.

For more information, visit <u>nccommunityfoundation.org</u>, like us on <u>Facebook</u> and follow us on <u>LinkedIn</u> and <u>Twitter</u> @NCCF.

Media contact

Noel McLaughlin; NCCF Director of Marketing and Communications 919-256-6901; nmclaughlin@nccommunityfoundation.org